• Alternative Dance
    • Art Pop
    • Brooklyn Indie
    • Chillwave
    • Dream Pop
    • Experimental Pop
    • Freak Folk
    • Garage Psych
    • Indie Pop
    • Indie Rock
    • Indie Surf
    • Lo-fi
    • Modern Rock
    • Neo-psychedelic
    • New Rave
    • Noise Pop
    • Nu Gaze
    • Psychedelic
    • Seen Live
    • Shoegaze

    DIIV (previously known as Dive) is the ongoing project of Zachary Cole Smith, who has already made a name for himself in the New York…

    Full Bio

    DIIV At The Vogue

    Sun Nov 12, 2023 - with special guests Fern Murphy and High. Buy Tickets

    DIIV (previously known as Dive) is the ongoing project of Zachary Cole Smith, who has already made a name for himself in the New York music scene playing for bands such as Beach Fossils, Darwin Deez and Soft Black. Smith formed DIIV in Brooklyn in 2011 as his solo project, but soon put together a live band with Devin Ruben Perez, his childhood friend Andrew Bailey, and ex-Smith Westerns drummer Colby Hewitt. DIIV’s first release, the single Sometime , was released as 7″ on Captured Tracks on Oct. 11th, 2011. The debut album Oshin was released in June 2012.

    Drummer Colby Hewitt left the band in spring 2015 due to his drug addiction.[17] Ben Newman (from North Carolina, formerly of Banda Suki) was added as the group’s drummer in 2015.

    Is the Is Are was released on February 5, 2016. The album debuted at number 81 on the US Billboard 200. The release was followed by a February tour in Australia as part of St Jerome’s Laneway Festival. On March 26, 2016, the Liverpool venue Arts Club, which DIIV was scheduled to perform at on March 27, announced that the remainder of DIIV’s European tour was canceled “due to an urgent health issue”, which was later confirmed by DIIV’s representatives.

    On February 3, 2017, Smith announced on his Instagram that he had checked in for “long-haul” inpatient treatment.

    On April 26, 2019, DIIV announced via their Instagram account, that their upcoming third album would be released this year. On the same day, Pitchfork reported their announcement on the new album, and confirmed through a representative of DIIV, that Devin Ruben Perez had left the band at the end of 2017.

    On July 24, 2019, DIIV released their first single in over three years, “Skin Game” and announced that their new album, Deceiver, will be released on October 4, 2019.

    On August 22, 2019, DIIV released their second single from Deceiver, titled, “Taker”

    On September 18, 2019, DIIV released their third single from Deceiver, entitled, “Blankenship”.
    Read more on Last.fm. User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.

    Upcoming Events
    • 2023
      with special guests Fern Murphy and High.
    Past Shows

    This artist doesn't have any past events at The Vogue.

    Similar Artists